The blog where I write things.

My Summer Jukebox Playlist

It’s summertime.  Whether on the radio or on the net, around this time of year people think about what songs they like to listen to.  I probably have more fodder for this list than anybody.  As a lifelong oldies listener, I’m pretty hip to the well-known summer oldies. 

As you may have guessed, I have a Summer Jukebox playlist on my iPod.  It is currently composed of 135 tracks, 85 of which are by the Beach Boys.  I bet most of you didn’t know they had that many songs.  To be fair, many of the tracks are alternate mixes, a capella and what have you. 

Any way, I figured I might take a look at a few tracks and point out why I think they are appropriate. 

“Afternoon Delight” by the Starland Vocal Band- I know what you’re thinking: this song is about copulation!  Not necessarily.  This song was written at a time before every other word or phrase was a sexual euphemism.  I only started to hear this song within the last few years, but it’s so incredibly catchy that I could listen to it ad naseum.  Will Ferrell and company recorded a very funny (and surprisingly faithful) version of this song for the movie “Anchorman”.  It is also on the playlist.  Bonus points if you can identify a Simpsons joke relating to this song. 

“California Saga (On My Way To Sunny Californ-I-A)” by the Beach Boys- this was orginially part of a three-part suite on the Beach Boys’ “Holland” album of 1973.  The album was so named because it was actually recorded in Holland.  Different compilations have different versions: the original album version is slower than the single release, reportedly because of the European power supply that the original recording sessions used, resulting in a speedup when played back on U.S. machines. 

“Sunshine, Lollipops, and Rainbows” by Leslie Gore- featured in the movie “Ski Party,” you probably recognized this from the Simpsons, which is where I first heard it.  The episode was “Marge on the Lam.”  It really is as infectious as they make it out to be.

That’s it for now, tune in next time for more iPod-related adventures!

2 responses

  1. Carl, Lenny, and Bart are dancing and singing to Afternoon Delight while Homer is attacked by a bear. Give me my bonus points. lol

    August 19, 2010 at 7:40 pm

    • Invader Norbert (Galileo) listed that episode as among his least favorite on his blog. I’m going to have to levy a 2-point penalty 😉

      August 19, 2010 at 10:26 pm

Leave a Reply

